Go to Kiwanis International's Website
General/Contact Information
Our Calendar
You are here
Our History
Our Officers
Our Committees
Our Sponsored Youth Programs
Kiwanis Family Links
How to become a member

Go back to the beginning
Our Community
Copyright © 2011
Kiwanis Club of
Easton, PA.
All Rights Reserved.

Club Photos

2005 Police Officer of the Year Award May 18, 2005

Easton Kiwanis awards the Annual Police Officer of the Year Award  posthumously to Police Officer Jesse Sollmon. We have been honoring an Easton Police Officer with this award since it's inception in 1981.  We do this in conjunction with National Police Week.  Easton's Mayor's Chief of Staff Stu Gallaher is shown reading the Proclamation from the City of Easton also honoring Jesse while Chief Mazzeo presents the Kiwanis Memorial plaque to Jesse's wife and children.  Kiwanis President Walt Howell, a retired Easton Police officer and recipient of the award in 1991-92, also presented a $1000 check from Easton Kiwanis and the Foundation to Carin Sollmon for the education foundation set up for the Sollmons' two children, Savannah, 6, and Jacob, 3.   Also speaking  was Carin's father, Charles Hentz, a retired Philadelphia Police Lt. himself.  He spoke on behalf of the family about Jesse and his love and lifelong ambition of being a police officer.  "Brightness of his spirit...anyone who knew him...well done!  We're gonna miss Jesse!"

Kiwanis is all about Children and our Defining Statement makes this point today: 
Kiwanis is a global organization of volunteers dedicated to changing the world one child and one community at a time.

Hold your mouse on the thumbnails for some comments.
Click on the thumbnail for larger picture.

Stu Gallaher reads City's ProclamationChief Mazzeo presents Kiwanis AwardPresident Walt presents $1000 check.Charles Hentz speaks about his son-in-law.Carin's "Thank you."Kiwanis Gov. Bill Brandamore meets the Sollmon family.Carin signs one of our children's books we present to needy children.Jacob Sollmon looks like his father.


In 1981 the Kiwanis Club of Easton decided it would like to give recognition to a deserving member of the Easton Police Department and show their appreciation for an outstanding career of public service.  Easton merchant Tom Stotz who was the Kiwanis Club President met with then Easton Police Chief William Cunningham, also a fellow Easton Kiwanian, to discuss this possibility and has resulted in our club presenting an award to be known as the "Police Officer of The Year."

The Easton award has been presented during National Police Week.  National Police Week was the result of a proclamation signed by President John F. Kennedy to pay tribute to the law enforcement officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice for our country and to voice our appreciation for all those who currently serve on the front lines of the battle against crime.  Congress, by a joint resolution approved October 1, 1962, has authorized and requested the President to designate May 15 of each year as “Peace Officers Memorial Day,” and the week in which it falls as “Police Week” and by Public Law 103-322 has requested that the flag be flown at half-staff on Peace Officers Memorial Day.

Award Criteria: The individual must be a sworn officer of the Easton Police Department.  Awards will go to an individual, not a group.  Previous winners of the award are not excluded from nomination.

Award Selection Process:  Their peers will nominate police officers.  All nominees are reviewed and selected by the Award Selection Committee.  If a member of the committee is a nominee, that police officer will excuse him/herself from the discussion of his/her own nomination, but return to vote on the others. Selection will be made by April 15th. 

Past recipients have been:

1981 Ofcr. Sam C. Osmun
1982 Sgt. John W. Border Jr.
1983 Sgt. Thomas A. Hess
1984 Det. Frank E. Martin
1985 Ofcr. John J. Mazzeo
1986 Ofcr. James Broscius Jr.
1987 Det. William A. Wilkinson Jr.
1988 None Given
1989 Ofcr. Douglas Schlegel
1990 Ofcr. Anthony J. Cappellano
1991-92 Det. Walter R. Howell Jr.
1992-93 Det. Edward J. Zukasky
1993-94 Ofcr. Timothy R. Lambert
1994-95 Insp. Stephen J. Parkansky Jr.
1995-96 Ofcr. Michael Vangelo
1996-97 Det. Barry A. Golazeski
1997-98 Lt. Michael J. Orchulli
1998-99 Det. Samuel J. Lobb
1999-2000 Det. David Ryan
2000-01 Det. Robert Miranda
2001-02 N.Y.P.D. 9/11 Victims
2002-03 Det. Michael R. Gibiser
2003-04 Ofcr. Daniel J. Reagan

return to top